BRISK - Biofuels Research Infrastructure for Sharing Knowledge


BRISK is a €10.84M four-year initiative with €8.98M funded under EC FP7 (Ref: 284498). The initiative runs from 1st October 2011 to September 2015. BRISK is coordinated by Kungliga Tekniska Hoegskolan (KTH) Stockolm, and includes partners from Austria, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the UK (see list below).

BRISK aims to develop a European Research Infrastructure for Thermochemical Biomass Conversion, supporting R&D on innovative processes to convert sustainable feedstocks (agricultural/forestry wastes and energy crops) into liquid, gaseous or solid fuels.

Production of sustainable biofuels through advanced thermochemical conversion units and biorefineries will enable a wider range of feedstocks to be utilised, making a significant contribution to EU targets for GHG reduction (20% by 2020 and 50% by 2050) and increased use of renewable energy sources in the transport sector. Enhanced energy security and integration with other industrial sectors, such as agriculture, also play a role.

The specific aim of BRISK is to overcome fragmentation in R&D facilities for thermochemical technologies, by enabling researchers to have access to high-level experimental facilities and services across Europe. The BRISK network will encourage and facilitate cooperative research in the specialised laboratories of project partners. The facilities are also open to researchers outside the project.

The BRISK website provides further information about how to apply for access to the experimental facilities for thermochemical conversion technologies.

[Source: Cordis and Aston University]

Technologies covered include

BRISK Partners

KTH, Sweden
Abo Akadmi University, Finland
Aston University Bioenergy Research Group, UK
Cardiff University, UK
Centre for Research and Technology (CERTH), Greece
Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
ECN, Netherlands
ETC, Sweden
Graz University of Technology, Austria
Institute for Energy (JRC-IE Petten), Netherlands
International Flame Research Foundation (IFRF), Italy
ENEA, Italy
Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
PALL Filtersystems, Germany
Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland
SINTEF, Norway
Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Technical University of Munich, Munich
TUBITAK, Marmara Research Centre, Turkey
University of Naples Federico II, Italy
University of Zaragoza, Spain
Vienna, University of Technology, Austria
Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland